Codeblock highlighting programming languages supported by Github

13 minute read

Codeblock highlighting programming languages supported by Github

Github uses Linguist to perform language detection and syntax highlighting. Here a list of common languages that can be used with the backtick “`” (see full list in Linguist - languages.yml).

For example, this snippet uses the sql to enable SQL syntax:

```sql
select * from table_name;
```

Supported lanuages as of now:

# By Language

Language IDs
ABAP abap •
ActionScript actionscript • actionscript3 • as • as3 •
Ada ada • ada95ada2005 • adb • ads •
Agda agda •
AGS Script ags • ags-script • asc • ash •
Alloy alloy • als •
AMPL ampl •
Ant Build System ant-build-system •
ANTLR antlr • g4 •
ApacheConf aconf • apache • apacheconf •
Apex apex • cls •
APL apl • dyalog •
AppleScript applescript • osascript • scpt •
Arc arc •
Arduino arduino • ino •
AsciiDoc adoc • asc • asciidoc •
ASP asax • ascx • ashx • asmx • asp • aspx • aspx-vb • axd •
AspectJ aj • aspectj •
Assembly a51 • asm • assembly • nasm •
ATS ats • ats2 • dats • hats • sats •
Augeas aug • augeas •
AutoHotkey ahk • ahkl • autohotkey •
AutoIt au3 • autoit • autoit3 • autoitscript •
Awk auk • awk • gawk • mawk • nawk •
Batchfile bat • batch • batchfile • cmd • dosbatch • winbatch •
Befunge befunge •
Bison bison • y •
BitBake bb • bitbake •
BlitzBasic b3d • bb • blitz3d • blitzbasic • blitzplus • bplus • decls •
BlitzMax blitzmax • bmax • bmx •
Bluespec bluespec • bsv •
Boo boo •
Brainfuck b • bf • brainfuck •
Brightscript brightscript • brs •
Bro bro •
C c • cats • h • idc • w •
C# c# • cs • csharp • cshtml • csx •
C++ c++ • cc • cp • cpp • cxx • h • h++ • hh • hpp • hxx • inl • ipp • tcc • tpp •
C-ObjDump c-objdump •
C2hs Haskell c2hs • c2hs-haskell • chs •
Cap'n Proto cap'n-proto • capnp •
CartoCSS carto • cartocss • mss •
Ceylon ceylon •
Chapel chapel • chpl •
ChucK chuck • ck •
Cirru cirru •
Clean clean • dcl • icl •
CLIPS clips • clp •
Clojure boot • cl2 • clj • cljc • cljs • cljs.hl • cljscm • cljx • clojure • hic •
CMake cmake • cmake.in •
COBOL cbl • ccp • cob • cobol • cpy •
CoffeeScript _coffee • cjsx • coffee • coffee-script • coffeescript • cson • iced •
ColdFusion cfm • cfml • coldfusion •
ColdFusion CFC cfc • coldfusion-cfc •
Common Lisp asd • cl • common-lisp • lisp • lsp • ny • podsl •
Component Pascal component-pascal • cp • cps • delphi • objectpascal •
Cool cl • cool •
Coq coq • v •
Cpp-ObjDump c++-objdumb • c++-objdump • c++objdump • cpp-objdump • cppobjdump • cxx-objdump •
Creole creole •
Crystal cr • crystal •
CSS css •
Cucumber cucumber • feature • gherkin •
Cuda cu • cuda • cuh •
Cycript cy • cycript •
Cython cython • pxd • pxi • pyrex • pyx •
D d • di •
D-ObjDump d-objdump •
Darcs Patch darcs-patch • darcspatch • dpatch •
Dart dart •
desktop desktop • desktop.in •
Diff diff • patch • udiff •
DM byond • dm •
Dockerfile dockerfile •
Dogescript djs • dogescript •
DTrace d • dtrace • dtrace-script •
Dylan dyl • dylan • intr • lid •
E e •
Eagle brd • eagle • sch •
eC ec • eh •
Ecere Projects ecere-projects • epj •
ECL ecl • eclxml •
edn edn •
Eiffel e • eiffel •
Elixir elixir • ex • exs •
Elm elm •
Emacs Lisp el • elisp • emacs • emacs-lisp • emacs.desktop •
EmberScript em • emberscript •
Erlang erl • erlang • es • escript • hrl •
F# f# • fs • fsharp • fsi • fsx •
Factor factor •
Fancy fancy • fancypack • fy •
Fantom fan • fantom •
fish fish •
FLUX flux • fx •
Formatted for • formatted •
Forth 4th • f • for • forth • fr • frt • fs • fth •
FORTRAN f • f03 • f08 • f77 • f90 • f95 • for • fortran • fpp •
Frege fr • frege •
G-code g • g-code • gco • gcode •
Game Maker Language game-maker-language • gml •
GAMS gams • gms •
GAP g • gap • gd • gi • tst •
GAS gas • s •
GDScript gd • gdscript •
Genshi genshi • kid • xml+genshi • xml+kid •
Gentoo Ebuild ebuild • gentoo-ebuild •
Gentoo Eclass eclass • gentoo-eclass •
Gettext Catalog gettext-catalog • po • pot •
GLSL fp • frag • frg • fs • fshader • geo • geom • glsl • glslv • gshader • shader • vert • vrx • vshader •
Glyph glf • glyph •
Gnuplot gnu • gnuplot • gp • plot • plt •
Go go •
Golo golo •
Gosu gosu • gs • gst • gsx • vark •
Grace grace •
Gradle gradle •
Grammatical Framework gf • grammatical-framework •
Graph Modeling Language gml • graph-modeling-language •
Graphviz (DOT) dot • graphviz-(dot) • gv •
Groff 1 • 2 • 3 • 4 • 5 • 6 • 7 • groff • man • nroff •
Groovy groovy • grt • gtpl • gvy •
Groovy Server Pages groovy-server-pages • gsp •
Hack hack • hh • php •
Haml haml • haml.deface •
Handlebars handlebars • hbs • htmlbars •
Harbour harbour • hb •
Haskell haskell • hs • hsc •
Haxe haxe • hx • hxsl •
HTML htm • html • html.hl • st • xht • xhtml •
HTML+Django html+django • html+django/jinja • html+jinja • htmldjango • jinja • mustache •
HTML+ERB erb • erb.deface • html+erb •
HTML+PHP html+php • phtml •
HTTP http •
Hy hy • hylang •
IDL dlm • idl • pro •
Idris idr • idris • lidr •
IGOR Pro igor • igor-pro • igorpro • ipf •
Inform 7 i7 • i7x • inform-7 • inform7 • ni •
INI cfg • dosini • ini • prefs • pro • properties •
Inno Setup inno-setup • iss •
Io io •
Ioke ik • ioke •
IRC log irc • irc-log • irclog • weechatlog •
Isabelle isabelle • thy •
J ijs • j •
Jade jade •
Jasmin j • jasmin •
Java java •
Java Server Pages java-server-pages • jsp •
JavaScript _js • bones • es6 • frag • gs • jake • javascript • js • jsb • jsfl • jsm • jss • jsx • njs • node • pac • sjs • ssjs • sublime-build • sublime-commands • sublime-completions • sublime-keymap • sublime-macro • sublime-menu • sublime-mousemap • sublime-project • sublime-settings • sublime-theme • sublime-workspace • sublime_metrics • sublime_session • xsjs • xsjslib •
JSON json • lock •
JSON5 json5 •
JSONiq jq • jsoniq •
JSONLD jsonld •
Julia jl • julia •
Kit kit •
Kotlin kotlin • kt • ktm • kts •
KRL krl •
LabVIEW labview • lvproj •
Lasso las • lasso • lasso8 • lasso9 • lassoscript • ldml •
Latte latte •
Lean hlean • lean •
Less less •
LFE lfe •
LilyPond ily • lilypond • ly •
Liquid liquid •
Literate Agda lagda • literate-agda •
Literate CoffeeScript litcoffee • literate-coffeescript •
Literate Haskell lhaskell • lhs • literate-haskell •
LiveScript _ls • live-script • livescript • ls •
LLVM ll • llvm •
Logos logos • x • xi • xm •
Logtalk lgt • logtalk •
LOLCODE lol • lolcode •
LookML lookml •
LoomScript loomscript • ls •
LSL lsl •
Lua fcgi • lua • nse • pd_lua • rbxs • wlua •
M m • mumps •
Makefile bsdmake • d • mak • make • makefile • mf • mk •
Mako mako • mao •
Markdown markdown • md • mkd • mkdn • mkdown • ron •
Mask mask •
Mathematica cdf • m • ma • mathematica • mma • nb • nbp • wl • wlt •
Matlab m • matlab •
Maven POM maven-pom •
Max max • max/msp • maxhelp • maxmsp • maxpat • maxproj • mxt • pat •
MediaWiki mediawiki •
Mercury m • mercury • moo •
MiniD minid •
Mirah druby • duby • mir • mirah •
Modelica mo • modelica •
Monkey monkey •
Moocode moo • moocode •
MoonScript moon • moonscript •
MTML mtml •
MUF m • muf •
mupad mu • mupad •
Myghty myghty • myt •
Nemerle n • nemerle •
nesC nc • nesc •
NetLinx axi • axs • netlinx •
NetLinx+ERB axi.erb • axs.erb • netlinx+erb •
NetLogo netlogo • nlogo •
NewLisp lisp • lsp • newlisp • nl •
Nginx nginx • nginxconf •
Nimrod nim • nimrod •
Ninja ninja •
Nit nit •
Nix nix • nixos •
NL nl •
NSIS nsh • nsi • nsis •
Nu nu • nush •
NumPy numpy • numpyw • numsc •
ObjDump objdump •
Objective-C h • m • obj-c • objc • objective-c • objectivec •
Objective-C++ mm • obj-c++ • objc++ • objective-c++ • objectivec++ •
Objective-J j • obj-j • objective-j • objectivej • objj • sj •
OCaml eliom • eliomi • ml • ml4 • mli • mll • mly • ocaml •
Omgrofl omgrofl •
ooc ooc •
Opa opa •
Opal opal •
OpenCL cl • opencl •
OpenEdge ABL abl • cls • openedge • openedge-abl • p • progress •
OpenSCAD openscad • scad •
Org org •
Ox ox • oxh • oxo •
Oxygene oxygene •
Oz oz •
Pan pan •
Papyrus papyrus • psc •
Parrot parrot •
Parrot Assembly parrot-assembly • pasm •
Parrot Internal Representation parrot-internal-representation • pir •
Pascal dfm • dpr • lpr • pas • pascal • pp •
PAWN pawn • pwn •
Perl cgi • fcgi • perl • ph • pl • plx • pm • pod • psgi • t •
Perl6 6pl • 6pm • nqp • p6 • p6l • p6m • perl6 • pl • pl6 • pm • pm6 • t •
PHP aw • ctp • fcgi • inc • php • php3 • php4 • php5 • phpt •
PigLatin pig • piglatin •
Pike pike • pmod •
PLpgSQL plpgsql • sql •
PLSQL pkb • pks • plb • pls • plsql • sql •
Pod pod •
PogoScript pogo • pogoscript •
PostScript eps • postscr • postscript • ps •
PowerShell posh • powershell • ps1 • psd1 • psm1 •
Processing pde • processing •
Prolog ecl • pl • pro • prolog •
Propeller Spin propeller-spin • spin •
Protocol Buffer proto • protobuf • protocol-buffer •
Public Key asc • pub • public-key •
Puppet pp • puppet •
Pure Data pd • pure-data •
PureBasic pb • pbi • purebasic •
PureScript purescript • purs •
Python cgi • fcgi • gyp • lmi • py • pyde • pyp • pyt • python • pyw • rusthon • tac • wsgi • xpy •
Python traceback pytb • python-traceback •
QMake pri • pro • qmake •
QML qml •
R r • rd • rscript • rsx • splus •
Racket racket • rkt • rktd • rktl • scrbl •
Ragel in Ruby Host ragel-in-ruby-host • ragel-rb • ragel-ruby • rl •
RAML raml •
Raw token data raw • raw-token-data •
RDoc rdoc •
REALbasic rbbas • rbfrm • rbmnu • rbres • rbtbar • rbuistate • realbasic •
Rebol r • r2 • r3 • reb • rebol •
Red red • red/system • reds •
Redcode cw • redcode •
reStructuredText rest • restructuredtext • rst •
RHTML html+ruby • rhtml •
RMarkdown rmarkdown • rmd •
RobotFramework robot • robotframework •
Rouge rg • rouge •
Ruby builder • fcgi • gemspec • god • irbrc • jbuilder • jruby • macruby • mspec • pluginspec • podspec • rabl • rake • rb • rbuild • rbw • rbx • ru • ruby • thor • watchr •
Rust rs • rust •
Sage sage • sagews •
SaltStack salt • saltstack • saltstate • sls •
SAS sas •
Sass sass •
Scala sbt • sc • scala •
Scaml scaml •
Scheme scheme • scm • sld • sls • sps • ss •
Scilab sce • sci • scilab • tst •
SCSS scss •
Self self •
Shell bash • bats • cgi • command • fcgi • ksh • sh • shell • tmux • zsh •
ShellSession console • sh-session • shellsession •
Shen shen •
Slash sl • slash •
Slim slim •
Smalltalk cs • smalltalk • squeak • st •
Smarty smarty • tpl •
SourcePawn sma • sourcemod • sourcepawn • sp •
SPARQL rq • sparql •
SQF hqf • sqf •
SQL cql • ddl • prc • sql • tab • udf • viw •
SQLPL db2 • sql • sqlpl •
Squirrel nut • squirrel •
Standard ML fun • ml • sig • sml • standard-ml •
Stata ado • do • doh • ihlp • mata • matah • stata • sthlp •
STON ston •
Stylus styl • stylus •
SuperCollider sc • scd • supercollider •
SVG svg •
Swift swift •
SystemVerilog sv • svh • systemverilog • vh •
Tcl adp • tcl • tm •
Tcsh csh • tcsh •
Tea tea •
TeX aux • bbx • bib • cbx • cls • dtx • ins • latex • lbx • ltx • mkii • mkiv • mkvi • sty • tex • toc •
Text fr • text • txt •
Textile textile •
Thrift thrift •
TLA+ tla
TOML toml •
Turing t • tu • turing •
Turtle ttl • turtle •
Twig twig •
TXL txl •
TypeScript ts • typescript •
Unified Parallel C unified-parallel-c • upc •
UnrealScript uc • unrealscript •
Vala vala • vapi •
VCL vcl •
Verilog v • veo • verilog •
VHDL vhd • vhdl • vhf • vhi • vho • vhs • vht • vhw •
VimL nvim • vim • viml •
Visual Basic bas • cls • frm • frx • vb • vb.net • vba • vbhtml • vbnet • vbs • visual-basic •
Volt volt •
Web Ontology Language owl • web-ontology-language •
WebIDL webidl •
wisp wisp •
xBase prg • xbase •
XC xc •
XML ant • axml • ccxml • clixml • cproject • csproj • ct • dita • ditamap • ditaval • dll.config • filters • fsproj • fxml • glade • grxml • ivy • jelly • kml • launch • mm • mxml • nproj • nuspec • osm • plist • pluginspec • ps1xml • psc1 • pt • rdf • rss • scxml • srdf • storyboard • sttheme • sublime-snippet • targets • tmcommand • tml • tmlanguage • tmpreferences • tmsnippet • tmtheme • ts • ui • urdf • vbproj • vcxproj • vxml • wsdl • wsf • wxi • wxl • wxs • x3d • xacro • xaml • xib • xlf • xliff • xmi • xml • xml.dist • xsd • xul • zcml •
Xojo xojo • xojo_code • xojo_menu • xojo_report • xojo_script • xojo_toolbar • xojo_window •
XProc xpl • xproc •
XQuery xq • xql • xqm • xquery • xqy •
XS xs •
XSLT xsl • xslt •
Xtend xtend •
YAML reek • rviz • yaml • yml •
Zephir zep • zephir •
Zimpl zimpl • zmpl • zpl •

Got the list from here: gfm-lang-ids

Leave a comment